Fans Name Lady Gaga Most Innovative Artist and Must Follow Artist on Twitter During MTV’s Inaugural O Music Awards

Lady Gaga emerged as the big winner of MTV Music Group’s inaugural O Music Awards,, a multiplatform franchise and award event that celebrates and honors the art, creativity, personality, technology and migration of music into the digital space.  Fans selected Gaga as Most Innovative Artist and Must Follow Artist on Twitter.

“I feel so honored to be accepting this award,” said Lady Gaga on winning Most Innovative Artist. “You make me feel so brave and that I can continue to push the boundaries.”

On winning the award for Must Follow Artist on Twitter, Gaga added, “I promise to continue to be inappropriate on Twitter so that you all continue to follow me.”

Additional winners includeTokio Hotel’s Aliens (Fan Army FTW), Kanye West(Best Tweet),LonelyIsland(Funniest Music Short),30 Seconds to Mars(NSFW Music Video),Aquarium Drunkard(Best Independent Music Blog) andMJJ Fan Community(Best Fan Forum).  In less than a month, more than 3 million votes were cast on via social media and mobile voting. The live event was available via Facebook, as well at MTV’s international websites across more than 150 territories. In addition, select clips will be available on Hulu and Hulu Plus subscription service beginning today and Yahoo Music beginning Friday, April 29th.

“We are very proud to be the recipients of this brand spanking new award,” said Jared Leto of 30 Seconds to Mars. “Winning the NSFW award means a lot of perverted people were watching our video with their pants down instead of working. Special thanks to everyone who voted for us.”

Music lovers and fan armies alike invaded Las Vegas’ iconic Fremont Street where they crammed into a gigantic cube art installation whereMatt & Kimopened MTV’s inaugural celebration of the artists, web celebrities, innovators and fans currently impacting the digital music space.  Throughout the live interactive event, fans were treated to performances by Lil B, who performed a new song entitled “Justin Bieber,”Lupe Fiasco, andFoster the People. Additionally,Mumford & Sonsled a raucous all star jam session withEdward SharpeandOld Crow Medicine Show. The O Music Award lineup of virtual music star presenters includedKe$ha, Cee Lo Green,B.o.B,Wiz Khalifa,Robyn, andTheophilus London. Viral sensation Rebecca Black hosted the fan army party live from Fremont Street.

After more than 9 hours, Chiddy Bang member Chidera “Chiddy” Anamege set the Guinness World Records title for the Longest Freestyle Rap while also simultaneously breaking the Longest Marathon Rapping record.  Fans were able to view the entire world record attempt on and suggested freestyle topics on Twitter via the hashtag #RapWorldRecord. The Chiddy stream generated more than a quarter of a million views and #RapWorldRecord became a trending topic on Twitter.

“It’s crazy – shouts to team swelly, shouts to MTV. Thanks to all the people who showed support all day online,” said Chidera “Chiddy” Anamege after setting the Guinness world record. “Without the fans I couldn’t have done this. I used to read the Guinness book when I was a little kid in school. Now I’m in it. Chase dreams first.”

Post show fans can share and embed their favorite O Music Award moments, performances, acceptance speech across their social networks and personal blogs. In addition, fans can view the entire show at

The weeklong O Music Award celebration kicked off on Monday, where two or more winners were announced each day leading up to the main event through a variety of digital platforms including livestreams, social media and digital conferencing. Pre-show winners includedAndy Grammer(Most Innovative Music Video),F**k Yeah Adam Lambert(Favorite F**k Yeah Tumblr),Nicki Minaj Gum Twirl (Favorite Animated Gif) andInvisible Instruments(Best Hack).Kanye West,who swept the Best Tweet category nominations, won for the sky high rant “I hate when I’m on a flight and I wake up with a water bottle next to me like oh great now I gotta be responsible for this water bottle.”

Following the live event, on Friday, April 29th, the final three awards for Best Music Hashtag, Best Remix and Best iTunes LP will be announced. The O Music Award website will continue to spotlight and herald innovation in the digital music space and will periodically continue to award recipients based on fan demand. The inaugural sponsors of O Music Awards are adidas, Ford, FUZE®, L’Oreal and T-Mobile.


Best Fan Cover: Alex Goot

Funniest Music Short: Lonely Island – I Just Had Sex

Innovative Artist: Lady Gaga

Must Follow Artist on Twitter: Lady Gaga

Most Innovative Music Video: Andy Grammer, Keep Your Head Up

Fan Army FTW- Tokio Hotel’s Aliens

NSFW Music Video: 30 Seconds to Mars – Hurricane

Most Viral Dance: Willow Smith – Whip My Hair

Best Independent Music Blog: Aquarium Drunkard

Best Music Discovery Service: Pandora

Best Performance Series: Daryl Hall – Live From Daryl’s House

Favorite F**k Yeah Tumblr: F**k Yeah Adam Lambert

Favorite Animated GIF: Nicki Minaj

Best Fan Forum: Michael Jackson – MJJCommunity

Best Music Hack: Invisible Instruments

Best Animal Performance: Parrot Dancing To Willow Smith’s Whip My Hair

Best Tweet: Kanye West– “I hate when I’m on a flight and I wake up with a water bottle next to me like oh great now I gotta be responsible for this water bottle”

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.