Nyjah Huston Wins at Newark Stop of Street League Skateboarding Nike SB World Tour

The Street League Skateboarding (SLS) Nike SB World Tour landed at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey, on Sunday afternoon (August 28) with the world’s top skateboarders bringing their best to compete for the last remaining chance to make it into the street skateboarding competition that matters the most: the SLS Nike SB Super Crown World Championship.

On perhaps one of the most interesting and challenging courses of the season – requiring a lot of speed to work in enough tricks during the Run section and technical skill on the big obstacles for the Best Trick section – the most decorated SLS Pro ever Nyjah Huston emerged victorious ahead of 2016 SLS Pick Chris Joslin and SLS Rookie Tommy Fynn to take home $80,000 and his first win since taking the podium at the 2015 SLS Nike SB Pro Open in Barcelona.

In the preliminary round, Huston scored an 8.6 with a Switch Frontside Feeble Grind on the handrail. In the finals, Huston blasted a huge gap Backside Lipslide on the long kinked rail, a speedy Backside Nosegrind on the quarterpipe, a Kickflip Frontside Boardslide on the flatbar, a Frontside Smith Grind over smaller channel feature on the quarterpipe, popping an Ollie over the gap into the quarterpipe to set up for a perfect Backside Smith Grind through the kinked rail, then a 360 Kickflip over the banked gap to finish strong with an Ollie Backside Over-Crooked Grind down the handrail (8.5).

Four out of Nyjah Huston’s five Best Tricks scored high enough for him to take the clear lead and the big win, firstly with a gap Kickflip Frontside Boardslide on the kinked rail (8.5), then a Caballerial Backslide Lipslide on the handrail (8.7), and two 9 Club hammers – a gap Kickflip Frontside Lipslide on the kinked rail (9.1) and a Backside 360 Noseblunt Slide down the handrail (9.4) – to bring his 9 Club all-time total to 43 tricks.

The 2016 SLS Nike SB Super Crown World Championship will take place on October 2 in Los Angeles, CA, the birthplace of skateboarding, where the following top eight elite street skateboarders will compete for the title of Champ: Shane O’Neill, Paul Rodriguez, Nyjah Huston, Tom Asta, Luan Oliveira, Cody McEntire, Ryan Decenzo and Chris Joslin.

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Written by Juliet Schroder

Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, and exploring the latest fashion trends.

Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.

[g1_socials_user user="1" icon_size="28" icon_color="text"]

2016 MTV VMAs: Best and Worst Dressed List

“The Fosters” Co-Creator and Executive Producer Peter Paige Says Tonight’s Summer Finale Will Be “An Incredibly Dynamic Hour of Television” – Exclusive Q&A