Song of the Year and Songwriter of the Year Nominees Announced for the 51st Academy of Country Music Awards

The Academy of Country Music have announced the nominees for Song of the Year and Songwriter of the Year for the 51st Academy of Country Music Awards.

Chris Stapleton, Eric Church, Little Big Town and Cam have added another nomination to their already impressive list with Song of the Year. Country newcomer Eric Paslay rounds up the category with his first ACM nomination for 2016 with “She Don’t Love You.”

SONG OF THE YEAR NOMINEES (Awarded to Songwriter(s)/Publisher(s)/Artist(s):

Burning House – Cam

Songwriters: Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson, Cam

Publishers: Marvelous Oaks Records (ASCAP), Creative Pulse Music (BMI), One Year Yesterday Publishing (BMI), Sony/ATV Songs LLC (BMI), These Are Pulse Songs (BMI), Way Above Music (BMI)

Girl Crush Little Big Town

Songwriters: Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose

Publishers: HillarodyRathbone Music (ASCAP), Hoodie Songs (BMI), Songs of Crazy Girl Music (BMI), Songs of Universal Inc (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp. (BMI)

Nobody To Blame – Chris Stapleton

Songwriters: Chris Stapleton, Barry Bales, Ronnie Bowman

Publishers: House of Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP), WB Music Corp (ASCAP), Quackhead Music (BMI), RayLynn Publishing (BMI)

Raise ‘Em UpKeith Urban Featuring Eric Church

Songwriters: Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele

Publishers: Jeffrey Steele Music (BMI), Sony/ATV Tree Publishing (BMI), TomDouglasMusic (BMI),  Sony/ATV Harmony (ASCAP), Texa Rae Music (ASCAP)

She Don’t Love You – Eric Paslay

Songwriters: Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne

Publishers: Five Stone Publishing (ASCAP), Spirit Two Nashville (ASCAP), Songwriters of Platinum Pen Publishing (BMI)



  • Rodney Clawson
  • Ross Copperman
  • Ashley Gorley
  • Shane McAnally
  • Josh Osborne

Chris Stapleton has now taken the lead over Eric Church with a total of seven ACM nominations, two for Song of the Year (one as artist, one as songwriter) for “Nobody to Blame,” Male Vocalist of the Year, New Male Vocalist of the Year, twice for Album of the Year for Traveller (as artist, and as producer), and Vocal Event of the Year for “Hangover Tonight” with Gary Allan.  

You can catch Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley co-hosting the 51st Academy of Country Music awards on from MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, NV on Sunday, April 3rd at 8:00PM live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network.