New Music Friday: Dua Lipa Unleashes Another New Song in Anticipation of Third Album – April 12, 2024

With festival season officially commencing this weekend, our favorite artists are releasing hot new tracks that we can’t wait to jam out to this summer.

Today (April 12), Dua Lipa has dropped another song from her upcoming, highly-anticipated third album, Radical Optimism, ultimately topping our New Music Friday playlist this week.

“Illusion” is the pop star’s newest offering in a string of releases before the record comes out May 3rd. The audio release is coupled with the song’s music video directed by Tanu Muino at the Piscina Municipal de Montjuïc in Barcelona — the same place Kylie Minogue shot “Slow.”

Lipa said in a press release, “‘Illusion’ was the first song Caroline [Ailin], Danny [Harle], Tobias [Jesso Jr.], Kevin [Parker] and I worked on together, and it really broke the ice for the record. It’s about knowing what you’re getting yourself into, but staying for the hell of it. The joke’s on them, it’s the fun of playing someone at their own game because ultimately you won’t fall for an illusion.”

Other songs that we can’t stop listening to come from ZAYN, Sabrina Carpenter, Alicia Keys, Chris Brown, Suki Waterhouse, WILLOW, Maggie Rogers, jxdn, Linkin Park, Fred again…, Peter McPoland, Crowded House, John SummitMaKenzie, Shaboozey, August Moon, charlieonafriday, Max McNown, Nicky Youre, Chloe Stroll, Chlöe, Nia Archives, girl in red, Stray Kids, PARTYNEXTDOOR and Tinashe; with collaborations from Peso Pluma and Arcángel, Lindsey Stirling and Royal & the Serpent, Future and Metro Boomin’ and JaVale McGee featuring Pierre, Koh and Audio Chateau.

It was a suuuuper hard decision, but keep scrolling to see our picks and let us know what you think of them by either leaving a reaction at the bottom of the post or by sending sliding into our DMs on Instagram at @celebsecrets.

Dua Lipa – “Illusion”

 ZAYN – “Aliented”

Sabrina Carpenter – “Espresso”

Alicia Keys – “Kaleidoscope”

Chris Brown – “Hmmm”

Suki Waterhouse – “My Fun”

WILLOW – “b i g f e e l i n g s”

Maggie Rogers – “Don’t Forget Me”

Linkin Park – “QWERTY”

Fred again… – “ItsNotREEAALLLLLLLL”

Peter McPoland – “Speed of the Sound (of you)”

Crowded House – “Teenage Summer”

John Summit – “Eat That Bass”

MaKenzie – “Velvet”

Shaboozey – “A Bar Song”

August Moon – “Closer”

Max McNown – “Wandering ‘Bout My Wandering”

Nicky Youre – “Mile Away”

Chloe Stroll – “Extremes”

Chlöe – “Boy Bye”

Nia Archives – “Silence Is Loud”

girl in red – “DOING IT AGAIN BABY”

Stray Kids “WHY?”


Tinashe – “Nasty”

Peso Pluma and Archangel – “Peso Completo”

Lindsey Stirling and Royal & the Serpent – Inner Gold”

Future and Metro Boomin’ – “Leather”

JaVale McGee featuring Pierre, Koh and Audio Chateau – “Cowboy”



Related Posts