New Music Friday: Olivia Rodrigo Offers Guts 2.0 with Four New Songs

It’s finally Friday, and we’re headed into the weekend jamming to a ton of new songs from your favorite artists.

Today (March 22), Olivia Rodrigo graced us with the deluxe version of GUTS entitled GUTS (Spilled). She’s offered us a new visual for “obsessed” and three bonus songs, “so american”, “girl i’ve always been”, “scared of my guitar”, – which were placed on the singer’s limited vinyl edition. Now, they’re out on all digital streaming platforms.

“so american” is obvi about her British flame Louis Partridge. Well, she hasn’t exactly confessed that, but a few lyrics point in that direction, including “drivin’ on the right-side road”. “obsessed” depicts Rodrigo being quite literally obsessed with the beauty queens who have dated the mister she is also into.

Girls are definitely running the world today when it comes to new music, as Alicia Keys gave us a sneak peek of her critically-acclaimed Broadway musical Hell’s Kitchen with her new song “Kaleidoscope.”

“Kaleidoscope” is one of the songs from her semi-autobiographical production and features vocals by Maleah Joi Moon; the actress portraying a young 17-year old Keys. The “If I Ain’t Got You” singer wrote all of the music for the show and the official synopsis reads, “There’s a place where the rhythm of the city is music, where every corner has a story, and every window is a kaleidoscope. Where a girl can step out of her apartment and find the world. That Hell’s Kitchen, a new musical from 16-time Grammy Award winner Alicia Keys that’s about to make Broadway feel brand new.”

The musical debuted at the Public Theater last year Off Broadway, and will begin previews this year at Shubert Theatre on Broadway this Thursday, March 28th, with opening night on Saturday, April 20th. Michael Greif directs and Camille A. Brown choreographs.

Many more songs came out this week that we’re putting on loop, including “Puntería” by Shakira and Cardi B, “Double Team” by Anitta, Brray and Bad Gyal, “La People II” by Peso Pluma, Tito Double P and Joel De La P, “KTM” by Jhayco, BRYANT MYERS and LUAR LA L, “Type Shit” by Future and Metro Boomin’, “Best For Me” by Joyner Lucas and Jelly Roll and “You Need Me Now?” by girl in red and Sabrina Carpenter; with more new tunes from Lenny Kravitz, Big Sean, Grace Cummings, Dela Kay, Bradley Simpson, Sabrina Sterling, Remi Wolf, Forest Claudette, Landon Barker, Cassadee Pope, Daughtry, Renforshort, Hozier, Megan Moroney, The Veronicas and more.

With a plethora of must-listen to songs on this week’s New Music Friday playlist, we composed a list of all of our favorites.

Head on down to the bottom to check out our picks of the week and be sure to let us know which song you like the best by either leaving a reaction at the bottom of the post, or by sending us a tweet at @celebsecrets.

Olivia Rodrigo – “so american”

Alicia Keys – “Kaleidoscope”

Shakira feat: Cardi B – “Puntería”

Anitta, Brray and Bad Gyal – “Double Team”

Peso Pluma, Tito Double P, Joel De La P – “La People II”

Future and Metro Boomin’ – “Type Shit”

Joyner Lucas and Jelly Roll – “Best For Me”

girl in red and Sabrina Carpenter – “You Need Me Now?”


Lenny Kravitz – “Human”

Big Sean – “Precision”

Grace Cummings – “ramona”

Dela Kay – “Nasty”

Bradley Simpson – “Cry At The Moon”

Remi Wolf – “Cinderella”

Sabrina Sterling – “Bittersweet”

Adrianne Lenker – Bright Future

Benson Boone – “Slow It Down”

Hozier – “Too Sweet”

Megan Moroney – “28th of June”

The Veronicas – “Jungle”

Hailey Knox – “11th Hour”

Wallows – “Calling After Me”

Wild Rivers – “Cave”


Related Posts