The 19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards Officially Kicked Off Awards Season – See the Winners Inside!

Christopher Polk/HFA2015/Getty Images for dcp
Christopher Polk/HFA2015/Getty Images for dcp

The 19th Annual Hollywood Film Awards brought together Hollywood’s elite to honor performances from this year’s most talked about and highly anticipated films at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Sunday, November 1st.

Hosted by James Corden, the Hollywood Film Awards, the official launch of the awards season®, has recognized excellence in the art of cinema and filmmaking for 18 years, honoring some of the world’s biggest stars.  More than one hundred honorees have gone on to garner Oscar® nominations and wins.

Alicia Vikander graciously accepted the “Hollywood Breakout Actress” award from Armie Hammer, who noted that she’s been in a remarkable seven films this year. Amy Poehler borrowed reading glasses from Pete Doctor’s wife to present him with the “Hollywood Animation Award.” Ryan Gosling set the record straight on how to pronounce Saoirse Ronan’s name, while singing her praises. Jane Fonda received a standing ovation after stepping onstage to accept the “Supporting Actress Award” for her work in Youth.

Jordana Brewster and Michelle Rodriguez accepted the “Hollywood Blockbuster Award” for Furious 7 along with Vin Diesel, who gave an emotional speech about the cast, as well as the impact of losing a member of that family too soon. Carey Mulligan spoke passionately about women’s rights while accepting the “Hollywood Actress Award” for her work in Suffragette.

Amy Schumer drew big laughs while accepting the “Hollywood Comedy Award” from an excited Selena Gomez. Vin Diesel took the stage again to introduce a powerful performance of “See You Again” by “Hollywood Song Award” winners Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth.

Will Smith accepted the “Hollywood Actor Award” for Concussion from Jamie Foxx, and spoke passionately about wanting to honor the truth of the film while also being a football dad, and the role that played in his work.

Robert De Niro received a standing ovation after a reel honoring his work was played. He noted that while this event typically marks the start of awards season, for him this award season started forty years ago.

This year’s award show honored the following:

 “Hollywood Career Achievement Award” 
Robert De Niro, presented by David O. Russell

“Hollywood Producer Award” 
Ridley Scott for The Martian, presented by Russell Crowe

“Hollywood Director Award” 
Tom Hooper for The Danish Girl, presented by Amber Heard

Hollywood Actor Award” 
Will Smith for Concussion, presented by Jamie Foxx

“Hollywood Actress Award” 
Carey Mulligan for Suffragette, presented by Jake Gyllenhaal

“Hollywood Supporting Actor Award” 
Benicio Del Toro for Sicario, presented by Reese Witherspoon

“Hollywood Supporting Actress Award” 
Jane Fonda for Youth, presented by Laura Dern

“Hollywood Breakout Actor Award” 
Joel Edgerton for Black Mass, presented by Johnny Depp and Dakota Johnson

“Hollywood Breakout Actress Award” 
Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl, presented by Armie Hammer

“New Hollywood Award” 
Saoirse Ronan for Brooklyn, presented by Ryan Gosling

“Hollywood Ensemble Award” 
The Hateful Eight cast including Kurt Russell, Jennifer Jason Leigh, Channing Tatum, Bruce Dern, Tim Roth, Michael Madsen, Walton Goggins, Demian Bichir, presented by Jamie Foxx

“Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award”
Straight Outta Compton cast including Corey Hawkins, O’Shea Jackson, Jr.  & Jason Mitchell, presented by Ice Cube

“Hollywood Comedy Award” 
Amy Schumer for Trainwreck, presented by Selena Gomez

“Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award” 
Adam McKay for The Big Short, presented by Steve Carell

“Hollywood Screenwriter Award” 
Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer for Spotlight, presented by Mark Ruffalo

“Hollywood Blockbuster Award”
Furious 7 (award accepted by Vin Diesel, Tyrese Gibson, Jordana Brewster, Michelle Rodriguez), presented by Kurt Russell

“Hollywood Song Award” 
Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth for “See You Again” from the Furious 7 soundtrack, presented by Vin Diesel

“Hollywood Animation Award”
Inside Out (award accepted by director Pete Docter), presented by Amy Poehler

“Hollywood Documentary Award” 
Asif Kapadia for Amy

“Hollywood Cinematography Award” 
Janusz Kaminski for Bridge of Spies

“Hollywood Film Composer Award” 
Alexandre Desplat for The Danish Girl and Suffragette

“Hollywood Editor Award” 
David Rosenbloom for Black Mass

“Hollywood Visual Effects Award” 
Tim Alexander for Jurassic World

“Hollywood Sound Award” 
Gary Rydstrom for Bridge of Spies

“Hollywood Costume Design Award” 
Sandy Powell for Cinderella

“Hollywood Make-Up & Hair Styling Award” 
Lesley Vanderwalt for Mad Max: Fury Road

“Hollywood Production Design Award” 
Cory Gibson for Mad Max: Fury Road


  • Juliet Schroder

    Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, watching sports and exploring the latest fashion trends. Juliet holds a B.S. in marketing from St. John's University.

    View all posts
Juliet is the founder and executive producer/host of Celeb Secrets and Celeb Secrets Country. When not reporting on the latest news in pop culture and country music, she enjoys traveling, spending time with friends and family, watching sports and…

Related Posts